Polycystic Kidney Disease Research Resource
Consortium (PKD RRC) Annual Symposium (Virtual)


Polycystic kidney diseases (PKD) comprise a group of renal cystic disorders that are accompanied by a broad array of extrarenal manifestations. These disorders are a major cause of morbidity in adults and children. Autosomal dominant PKD is the most common single gene disorder that results in end-stage kidney disease. Autosomal recessive PKD is rare but more severe, resulting in perinatal mortality in 30–40 percent of affected infants. Although the most common causative genes for PKD (PKD1, PKD2, and PKHD1) were identified more than 2 decades ago, we still lack effective therapies, and major questions remain in our understanding of disease pathogenesis. The PKD RRC seeks to address these gaps by creating a collaborative framework that develops and shares research resources to support innovation in PKD research.

The PKD RRC is composed of a central coordinating site (University of Maryland, Baltimore); three research and translation core centers (The University of Alabama at Birmingham; Kansas University Medical Center; University of Maryland, Baltimore); and the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK).

Meeting Objectives

  1. Identify state-of-the-art techniques that could be applied to advance our understanding of PKD biology.
  2. Discuss challenges and gaps in PKD research that, if addressed, could move the field forward.
  3. Promote broad awareness of advances in PKD research and highlight existing PKD research resources.
  4. Foster interaction among members of the scientific community, including PKD researchers, early-stage investigators, and researchers who are new to the PKD field.
  5. Obtain feedback from the research community, with respect to what tools and resources are necessary to advance PKD research.

Organizing Committee

Robin Maser - Chair (Kansas University Medical Center); C.J. Haycraft - Co-Chair, John Parant, Zhang "John" Li (University of Alabama Birmingham); Terry Watnick, Stacey Bridges Turner, Rebecca Walker, Owen Woodward (University of Maryland School of Medicine); Christine Maric-Bilkan (NIDDK); Lisa Guay-Woodford (Children's National Hospital); Paul Welling (Johns Hopkins University); Alan Yu, Stephen Parnell, Yan Zhang (University of Kansas Medical Center).

Registration Deadline

September 8, 2022